Skip to main content

European Union country in the Balkans.

Republic of Bulgaria (Република България) is a developing European Union country in the Balkans, bordered by to the north, and to the west, and to the south and the Black Sea to the east. is the country's capital. The official language is Bulgarian and the official script is Cyrillic.

Bulgaria applies a visa-free system for holders of valid Schengen visas - they can stay for a period of no more than three months in any six-month period from the date of the first entry, without needing to have a Bulgarian short-stay visa.