A landlocked country in Eastern Europe formerly part of Yugoslavia, having Belgrade as its capital.

The Republic of Serbia (Serbian: Република Србија / Republika Srbija) borders to the north; and to the east; to the south; and Croatia, , and to the west; it also borders through the disputed territory of .
The official language, Serbian, is the only European language with active digraphia, using both Cyrillic and Latin alphabets.