Skip to main content

The capital of the Republic of China (Taiwan).

taipei skyline

Taipei is the capital of the Republic of China (). With 2.6 million inhabitants taipei is the fourth largest administrative area of Taiwan, after , and . However, the Greater Taipei metropolitan area, which encompasses the central Taipei City along with the surrounding New Taipei City and , represents the largest urban cluster in Taiwan with nearly 7 million people. Taipei serves as the island's financial, cultural and governmental centre.