The Republic of Zambia, a country in Southern Africa bordered by (clockwise from the top): the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia and Angola.

Zambia's population is concentrated mainly around its capital city, Lusaka, in the south central part of the country, and the Copperbelt Province to the northwest.

history | excerpt history