Skip to main content

The United Arab Emirates, a country in the Middle East.

Flag of the UAE Map showing location of the UAE

The United Arab Emirates, also known as the UAE or simply as the Emirates, is a country in the southeastern Arabian peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordered by and .

As its name indicates, it is a federation of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. The largest city and gateway is , served by Dubai International Airport (); the capital and second largest city is , served by Abu Dhabi International Airport (). The country is also accessible by road from and , as well as some ferry service to .

The primary language is Arabic, and the local currency is the Emirati dirhham (AED).