Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

A landlocked country in Western Europe. Switzerland's biggest and most important cities are Zurich, Berne, Geneva and Basel.

Swiss flag, from Switzerland

Switzerland is a country in , sharing borders with , , and . The country is mostly located in the mountains. Switzerland (officially the Swiss Confederation, Confederatio Helvetica) is a federal republic consisting of 26 cantons. Switzerland is part of the is part of the Schengen area but is not a member of the European Union.

Switzerland has four official languages: German is the most spoken language, French is spoken in the West, Italian in the South, and Romansh in the South-East. The capital city is Bern; the largest cities are Zurich, Geneva, Basel and Lausanne. The currency is the Swiss Franc.

Useful links

history | excerpt history