A term used for the countries south of China, east of India, and culturally or historically influenced by either or both.

Southeast Asia is a collective term for the following countries: Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Cambodia, Myanmar (Burma), Laos, Singapore, Brunei, Timor Leste (East Timor). Sometimes referred to as the 'ASEAN' (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries, these are fairly similar to each other in geography, climate, political atmosphere - and yet uniquely different from each other.