Country being part of the United Kingdom and occupying the northern third of the island of Great Britain

Scotland is a country that is part of the United Kingdom. Occupying the northern third of the island of Great Britain, it shares a border with England to the south and is bounded by the North Sea to the east, the Atlantic Ocean to the north and west, and the North Channel and Irish Sea to the southwest. In addition to the mainland, Scotland constitutes over 790 islands including the Northern Isles and the Hebrides.

Edinburgh is the country's capital and its second-largest city. The largest city is Glasgow.

The country has a surface of 78 387 square kilometers and a population of over 5.2 millions.

Scotland travel guide

VisitScotland: Official tourism site