A city in Austria whose notable tourist attractions include the birthplace of classical composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

With its 150 000 inhabitants, Salzburg is the fourth-largest city in Austria and the capital city of the federal state of Salzburg. Salzburg's "Old Town" (Altstadt) has internationally renowned baroque architecture and one of the best-preserved city centres north of the Alps. It was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. The city is noted for its Alpine setting. Salzburg was the birthplace of 18th-century composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. In the mid‑20th century, the city was the setting for parts of the musical and film The Sound of Music. It is the capital city of the State of Salzburg (Land Salzburg).

See also: