A country in the south-western Pacific Ocean. It consists of two main islands and multiple smaller ones.

New Zealand (Aotearoa in Māori) is an island country in the south-western Pacific Ocean comprising two main landmasses (the North Island and the South Island) and numerous smaller islands. The country is situated some 1,500 kilometres (900 mi) east of across the , and roughly 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the Pacific island nations of , , and . Due to its remoteness, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans.

history | excerpt history