New Caledonia is an island territory in the South-West Pacific, an autonomous dependency of France

New Caledonia (Nouvelle Calédonie) is an autonomous dependency of France located in the south-west Pacific, to the north-east of . French is the official language and is almost universally understood. The currency is the French Pacific Franc (XPF).

New Caledonia includes the main island (called Grande Terre or sometimes “le Caillou” or just New Caledonia), the Loyalty Island, the Île des Pins and many smaller islands. The capital Nouméa is located on the main island.

Nationals of the EU and some other countries can visit for up to 3 months without a visa. Visitors who need a visa can get one from a French consulate.

Useful links