Monaco, a city-state on the French Riviera.

Monaco flag, from Monaco

The Principality of Monaco is a city-state located on the French Riviera, on the Mediterranean Sea . Its only land border is with France , though the border with Italy is nearby. The official language is French, and the currency is the Euro.

Monaco is not a member of the European Union, but it is in the Schengen Area and has an open border with France, with which it is in a customs union.

Useful links