Skip to main content

A country in Southeast Asia bordered by Thailand, Indonesia and Brunei by land and by Singapore, Vietnam and the Philippines by sea.

Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy in Southeast Asia. It consists of thirteen states and three federal territories and has a total landmass of 329,847 square kilometres separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysia and Malaysian Borneo. In 2022, the total population was estimated to be 33.8 million, with more than 27 million living on the Peninsula.

Land borders are shared with Thailand, Indonesia, and Brunei, and maritime borders exist with Singapore, Vietnam, and the Philippines. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur — with a 2022 estimated population of 8.4 million — whereas the Kuala Lumpur suburb of Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government.

Official Website of Tourism Malaysia

Malaysia Travel Guide

World Factbook Entry