Skip to main content

A Special Administrative Region of China bordering the South China Sea. It is essentially a city-state, mostly known for the namesake island and the Kowloon district on the mainland which directly faces Hong Kong Island.

Flag of Hong Kong, from Hong Kong

Hong Kong is an autonomous city-state bordering the South China Sea. It is a former overseas possession of the United Kingdom, and is now a special administrative region of the People's Republic of China . Hong Kong is subject to Chinese foreign policy but has a separate political system (following the principle of “one country, two systems”) and a large degree of autonomy in internal affairs.

Chinese and English are both official languages. In practice, Cantonese is the most widely spoken language, written in traditional characters. English and Mandarin are also understood, at least in touristic areas. Many signs display both Chinese and English. The currency is the Hong Kong dollar (HKD).

Visas for Hong Kong and for China are not linked. Visitors from many countries do not need a visa for short stays.

Useful links