Cyprus, officially the Republic of Cyprus, is an island country in the eastern Mediterranean Sea and is a member state of the European Union.

Cyprus is a major tourist destination in the Mediterranean. An advanced, high-income economy with a very high Human Development Index.

It is not yet a part of the Schengen Area but is scheduled for the transition and follows visa policies very similar to it.

The Republic of Cyprus is de facto partitioned into two main parts; the area under the effective control of the Republic and the Turkish-controlled area in the north, calling itself the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus. Visa policy for Northern Cyprus is hence different from Cyprus, and questions related specifically to Northern Cyprus should be tagged .

history | excerpt history