Questions about travel to and within the country of Albania in Southeast Europe.

Albania, officially the Republic of Albania, is a former communist country in on the Adriatic Sea. It shares borders with to the northwest, to the northeast, to the east, to the south, the Ionian Sea to the southwest, and the Adriatic Sea to the west. It is less than 72 kilometers (45 miles) from across the sea.

Albanian has a 476 kilometer (296 mile) coast line with surrounding low lands. The remaining 70% of the country is covered in rugged mountains with limited access. The Lake of Shkodër, on the Albanian-Macedonian border is the largest lake in Southern Europe.

The capital city of Albania is Tirana. Other principle cities include Durrës, Korçë, Elbasan, Shkodër, Gjirokastër, Vlorë and Kukës. There are two international airports, at Tirana () and Kukës (ICAO: ). There is limited train service between Tirana and Durrës; otherwise local transportation needs are mainly served by numerous bus companies.