7

Does the Most Significant Carrier (MSC) rule apply to cabin luggage including carry-on and personal items?

Is there anything to do in order to take more than one airline in the route normally allows, when another airline is the Most Significant Carrier?

Suppose I am flying a segment with a small allowance, how do I demonstrate that another carrier's more generous rule should apply?

  • 1
    @pnuts - Done and I don't know. I found a statement in COPA Airline's site which refers to the MSC but it does not name a resolution by number or organization. – Itai Dec 16 '16 at 19:47
  • There's (almost) always more room for luggage in the hold but the same can't be said of the cabin. While obviously often the luggage rules are only for price gauging, not always. It's possible you are flying on a small plane, plain and simple. So it makes total sense to leave the cabin luggage rules up to the operator. – chx Dec 16 '16 at 22:46
  • 1
    The MSC rules applies to checked baggage because it is checked once for the entire series of flights and there needs to be a standard policy as to which airline's baggage rules apply. Carry on baggage however boards each flight separately in your care and is therefore subject to each airlines rules. – user13044 Dec 17 '16 at 3:33
  • @Tom - It also makes it a pain because I have a single ticket covering 7 airlines and I had to analyse everyone's rules to get to the smallest common denominator. It would be very nice of passengers if they could all agree and bags would always fit. Currently some that I own are 0.5" to wide for one airline, 2" too short for another and fit well in most others despite never have any problems fitting it under a seat. – Itai Dec 17 '16 at 4:12
6

Does the Most Significant Carrier (MSC) rule apply for cabin luggage including carry-on luggage and personal items?

No. For details of IATA Resolution 302 see.

Is there anything to do in order to take more than one airline in the route normally allows when another airline is the most significant carrier?

No.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.