I received my first ticket (27360 A) yesterday for not buckling my child to car seat in California. I'm a Texas resident. Can I be given first offense fine reduction?
A reduction may be sought, according to California law
Responsibilities of the Courts
- To charge the full fine unless the violator shows the court proof of economic disadvantage. The law does not permit the violator to bring a car seat to court or attend an education program in lieu of the fine.
- To allocate the fine money collected for 27360 and 27360.5 to a special revenue fund that supports a program operated by the local city or county health department that provides education and low-cost car seats to needy families. According to the California State Controller, the fine money must be allocated to this special revenue fund, even if the violator attends Traffic Violator School to have the point removed from his or her record.
- To refer certain violators to a violator education program that provides certification that the defendant has presented for inspection a child restraint that meets federal safety standards. If the fine is reduced or waived, the court must require any violator cited for V.C. 27360 or 27360.5 to show proof of attendance. If the fine is paid in full, the court may require participation in the program.
- To charge one point for each violation of 27360 or 27360.5. The violation must be reported to the DMV, whether the fine is reduced, waived, or paid in full.
- The fine for failing to properly secure any child under age 16 is $100 per child plus penalty assessments (almost $500 total).
- The fine for a second or subsequent offense is $250 plus penalty assessments (over $1000).
You should see if you can attend traffic school instead. This also drops the points from your license. It is, I believe, only for first-time offenses.
And please use a child seat.