I have 6 month validity Schengen visa. I want to in how many countries I can travel?

  • 6
    You can travel to the countries listed on the first printed line of your visa. Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 5:35

2 Answers 2


Look carefully at what is written in the "VALID FOR" area in your visa. This is the top line on your Schengen visa. It can say one of the following:

  • "SCHENGEN STATES" or "SCHENGEN STATEN" or "SCHENGENER STAATEN" (thanks @burhan-khalid and @phoog) - this means you can visit all 26 Schengen countries. Note that you still cannot spend more time in any other country than in the country which issued you a visa for (you'd need to apply for visa for the country you primarily visit).

  • a specific country/countries name. In this case you legally can only visit the country/countries listed. While there are no border/passport checks between Schengen countries and you might be able to sneak in, this is not recommended. If there is any trouble or random police checks, and you're caught up and have your papers checked, you might be banned from future visits into the whole Schengen area. This would be a quite rare case, but I've seen a visa like that, so it certainly possible.

  • Notes it may not say "SCHENGEN STATES", it may state "SCHENGEN STATEN" Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 10:11
  • 2
    @BurhanKhalid Or "STATI SCHENGEN" or "ETATS SCHENGEN" or something similar in any of the member states' languages (and if there was a limited number of languages beside English, German-only would be very very odd indeed).
    – Relaxed
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 10:21
  • 3
    Note that this holds for short-stay (type C) visas. A long-stay (type D) visa implicitly allows short stays in the full Schengen area, even if the "valid for" field only lists the issuing member state (which is where the visa allows a long stay). Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 10:34
  • @BurhanKhalid and everyone: the German annotation is actually SCHENGENER STAATEN.
    – phoog
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 15:07
  • @phoog on my visa from the Netherlands its "Schengenstaten" Commented Sep 8, 2016 at 5:06

You can travel to all the 26 countries included in the visa. They can also be found here.

  • 1
    Schengen visas can be restricted. Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 8:31
  • 3
    Please don't link to schengenvisainfo.c*m. It is a non-official site that exists only to generate page views and ad revenue (which in itself is not so bad), and the information it contains is woefully out of date (which is bad). For example, it claims that there's such a thing as type B land transit visas, even through they were abolished in 2010. Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 9:43
  • 1
    changed already
    – seb
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 9:44
  • 3
    (+1) Adding a word about possible restrictions (even if they are uncommon) could be a good idea. Also, under some conditions Schengen visas opens right to stay in some non-Schengen countries so the list might be even longer: travel.stackexchange.com/questions/38706/…
    – Relaxed
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 9:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .