Investigating from where you could view the most UK counties is what prompted my previous question on the US - I know you can view up to eight counties from the Malvern Hills, and a number of travel programs I've watched often show points where you can see insert large number of counties from but I was trying to find where the most are visible from and haven't had any luck via Google.

  • 1
    (Don't worry, I already know Australia's and I don't care about Canada.) ;)
    – dlanod
    Commented Jan 5, 2015 at 21:45
  • 5
    Unlike US states, can you clarify if you include ceremonial, geographic, administrative, and shrieval counties? All of them? For example on the A264 east of East Grinstead there are 4. But only if you count West Sussex as a 'county'.
    – Gayot Fow
    Commented Jan 5, 2015 at 22:41
  • Looking at the maps it seems like ceremonial counties best match expectations of UK counties.
    – dlanod
    Commented Jan 5, 2015 at 22:57

2 Answers 2


The Wrekin in Shropshire...

Shropshire, Staffordshire, Lancashire, Gloucestershire, West Midlands, with Greater Manchester County if you count it as distinct from Lancashire.

The Wrekin /ˈriːkɨn/ is a hill in east Shropshire, England. It is located some 7 km (4.3 mi) west of Telford, on the border between the unitary authorities of Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin. Rising to a height of 407 metres (1,335 ft) above the Shropshire Plain, it is a prominent and well-known landmark, signalling the entrance to Shropshire for travelers westbound on the M54 motorway.[1] The Wrekin is contained within the northern panhandle of the Shropshire Hills AONB. The hill is popular with walkers and tourists and offers good views of Shropshire. It can be seen well into Staffordshire and the Black Country, and even as far as the Beetham Tower in Manchester, Winter Hill in Lancashire and Cleeve Hill in Gloucestershire.


Traditionally (i.e., as a matter of local folklore), the peak gives views of 17 counties, but they are not authoritatively enumerated like the Wiki...

Like the Snowdon claim, the seventeen counties assertion has appeared in numerous guidebooks and magazine articles since 1860 and persists up to the present day. On the website answerbank (an online version of the traditional Notes and Queries format; see www.theanswerbank.co.uk) one contributor in June 2008 posed the question 'What are the seventeen counties that can be seen from the Wrekin in Shropshire?'.


  • In your PDF link, it lists 20 historic counties determined as visible using heywhatsthat.com.
    – dlanod
    Commented Jan 5, 2015 at 23:22
  • 1
    I would be a really hard sell that Oxfordshire and Yorkshire are actually visible :)
    – Gayot Fow
    Commented Jan 5, 2015 at 23:43

You can see 7 proper counties From Lowbury Hill on the Oxfordshire / Berkshire border:

  • Oxfordshire
  • lots Buckinghamshire
  • Chilterns
  • Berkshire watership down
  • Hampshire
  • Beacon hill
  • Wiltshire near Coombe gibbit
  • Gloucestershire
  • Cotswolds
  • Northamptonshire
  • Musswell Hill.
  • 2
    I've tried to edit your answer for formatting, but clearly some of your list is not counties, perhaps commentary or places within those counties? Since there end up being more than 7 in the bulleted list. Please finish the editing process to get the effect you wanted. Commented May 1, 2016 at 20:23

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .