2

On a given day, I travel from a Schengen zone country where I have a residence permit to a Schengen zone country where I don't have a residence permit. Does that day count as one of my 90/180 days?

10
  • 2
    Strictly speaking, yes, but this isn't necessarily strictly enforced. If you live in a Schengen country and work in the same Schengen country but travel through a second Schengen country in your daily commute, nobody is going to count this against you even though there is no explicit provision for this sort of thing in the Schengen codes.
    – phoog
    Jan 15 at 16:42
  • It isn't a commute, it's just a move from one country to another on that day. So I guess it is subtracted from 90/180.
    – Matt
    Jan 15 at 17:20
  • Again, strictly speaking, yes. But it's difficult to think of circumstances in which one day is going to make a practical difference -- or even a few days.
    – phoog
    Jan 15 at 17:49
  • 6
    @André, when in a different country than the one where you have your residence you are still bound to the 90 out of 180 rules, even when not as strictly enforced.
    – Willeke
    Jan 15 at 18:54
  • 2
    @André it's not explicit in the Schengen Borders Code, but it is explicit in the Schengen Acquis, article 21, which says "Aliens who hold valid residence permits issued by one of the Member States may, on the basis of that permit and a valid travel document, move freely for up to 90 days in any 180-day period within the territories of the other Member States, provided that they fulfil the entry conditions..."; see eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX%3A32010R0265 and eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?uri=CELEX%3A32013R0610 for the relevant amendments.
    – phoog
    Jan 16 at 0:05

1 Answer 1

3

Technically, the period of stay would be computed in the same way so that both the first and last day in which you spent time in other Schengen countries than your country of residence would count towards the 90/180 limit. Of course, you won't get stamps an enforcing this is not a priority.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .