Typically, Star Alliance Gold status is granted on the basis of a number of status miles flown in a year.

I am wondering, are there airlines which also grant status based on a certain minimum number of flight legs flown, regardless of miles?

Specifically, I am wondering for Air India, but I cannot seem to find that information on their website. So I presume they grant status only on the basis of status miles?

1 Answer 1


Asiana Airline does it. For example, to upgrade to Gold:

If any of the following conditions have been met during the 24-month period from the “base date*”

  1. 20,000 flight miles accrued
  2. 30 flights with Asiana Airlines
  3. 20,000 total miles accrued (when flight mileage is over 15,000 and combined with Asiana affiliate card records)
  • 2
    Those numbers will get you "Asiana Gold", which is Star Alliance SILVER, not Gold.
    – Doc
    Commented Dec 15, 2023 at 14:30
  • 3
    Principle stays the same for upper tiers. Just more flights (50) or miles for Diamond. Etc...
    – dda
    Commented Dec 15, 2023 at 14:45
  • @dda, can you please edit those higher tiers into the answer, even if you have to do so without details.
    – Willeke
    Commented Dec 16, 2023 at 6:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .