Our Air France flight Paris → Los Angeles had to land in Las Vegas due to technical issues. To get home we had to rent a car and drive for 4 hours. Other option was to spend night in LV or get on a bus promised by AF.

We filed a compensation claim and now AF is asking for my bank info and for my spouse's bank info and passport scans. The email is sent from seemingly legit [email protected]. Is that normal?

Dear Mr.___, Thank you for ypur (sic!) reply. As per our record,the details for the other passenger on the reservation are not provided.
In this case,I kindly ask you to send the mentioned details for the other passenger. Bank details have to be personal for the other passenger on the file. Also,the passport image of each passenger are required for us to proceed. Looking forward for your reply.

Best regards, Daniel Behari Air France and KLM Customer Care Assistant

  • 2
    It is normal to ask for your bank information in order to, well, transfer the money to you.
    – xngtng
    Feb 21, 2023 at 21:45
  • 10
    The usual advice when you are not sure about the provenance of an email you received: Call/email the company back, and ask them if they sent this. In my limited infosec experience, addresses like "infos-airfrance.com" are often not legit. Anyone could have bought that address. But sometimes it is just the IT guys being lazy or some silly bureaucracy preventing them from using an @airfrance.fr address. Feb 21, 2023 at 21:58
  • 1
    I'd suggest you follow @user253751 recommandation, a very fast lookup of the site indicates that it would be a genuine AF site. But, email spoof is soo easy and the word kindly being nearly always a red flag when regarding scams, better shield yourself Feb 22, 2023 at 6:06
  • 1
    ‘Send the mentioned details’ and ‘looking forward for’ sound odd to me. Follow @user253751’s recommendation and verify the email via an independent means
    – Traveller
    Feb 22, 2023 at 7:30
  • 2
    @gerrit: in the email there is nothing specific about the case, so it should be a template. And asking passport image is a clear sign of a scam. On all compensation I never ever been asked a document. Feb 22, 2023 at 13:18

1 Answer 1


Based on Air France’s website, this appears to be a scam. Reason: “asks for proof of identity or bank details”

On the list that they use is customer-care (with a hyphen) at airfrance dot fr. Also says they use at infos-airfrance dot com

If there is nothing specific about the booking (REF # abc123) then it’s a scam. “This type of email will always contain information that you recognize, like your booking reference while your Flying Blue number”

So the domain seems legit. But that is what is in the text. It might actually direct to another address. So:

Hover over the part of the email that says where to send the info. See if it actually directs to that address. Look carefully- it could be off by just one letter. (0r a character that looks similar h/t to @PeterM)

See here: https://wwws.airfrance.fr/en/information/legal/edito-phishing

  • 2
    It's not just one letter off that can be the issue. It could be a letter that looks correct, but is in fact another letter that looks similar in unicode.
    – Peter M
    Feb 22, 2023 at 17:48
  • @PeterM great point
    – Damila
    Feb 22, 2023 at 17:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .