Australian citizens definitely used to need a visa to enter the Republic of Georgia a few years back.

Then last year (2010) I entered by land from Turkey and was given a 360-day stamp at the border with no visa necessary.

Now (July 2011) the Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade website says:

If you are an Australian citizen, you need a visa to visit Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia and Moldova.

Is this a poorly maintained website or has Georgia really flipflopped on the visa rules for Australian citizens?

  • Apparently Georgia is about to change its visa rules in September 2014 to a 90/180 system similar to the systems in use in the Schengen area and in Turkey. I don't think full details are available yet: agenda.ge/news/18614/eng – hippietrail Jul 30 '14 at 3:09

Well until some time in 2014 Australians were still granted 360 day visas on arrival.

However at the last election there was a change of government and the new government eventually changed the visa regime to a "90/180" type where visitors who qualify are now granted permission to stay for ninety days out of any 180 day period. Much like Schengen, Turkey, etc.


According to this information (this is an up-to-date site), Australia is in the list of countries, citizens of which can stay in Georgia from 90 to 180 days.

This information also is on the official site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia (as @hippietrail said already):

List of the countries whose citizens do not need a visa to enter and stay on the territory of Georgia for 360 days

  • All countries of the European Union
  • United States of America
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • Switzerland
  • Lichtenstein
  • Norway
  • Israel
  • the Holy See
  • Principality of Andorra
  • San-Marino
  • Republic of Iceland
  • United Arab Emirates
  • State of Kuwait
  • South Korea
  • State of Qatar
  • Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Oman
  • Brunei
  • Singapore
  • Australia
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Barbados
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Seychelles
  • Botswana
  • Croatia
  • Chile
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Argentina
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Uruguay
  • Mauritius
  • Panama
  • Costa Rica
  • South Africa
  • Brazil
  • Thailand
  • Belize
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Republic of Albania
  • Republic of Serbia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Montenegro
  • Republic of Iraq
  • 1
    This changed a few months ago. It's now 90/180. )-: – hippietrail Nov 27 '14 at 13:46

protected by Mark Mayo Jan 21 '14 at 14:51

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.