6

Trying to determine how much I'd pay for 2 bags for a roundtrip YVR -> SCL flight, connecting in Mexico City.

My online itinerary just says "no info" for each bag, and gives this link which at least for me just loads as a blank page on both Firefox and Chrome.

On the other hand, this page seems to be what I want. At the very top, in the "Baggage Allowance" section, you can select your departure & arrival countries, and the table below updates. For example, when departing Canada and arriving in South America (except Brazil) in economy it looks like I get one checked bag free (note that this conflicts with what seatguru says which is 2 bags, but maybe they are just out of date).

OK, so how much for the second bag? Click "Excess Baggage Fees" in the header (I can't seem to link to this directly). You get a confusing table, the first few rows which look like this:

Excess Baggage Table

First, immediately above, it says Select your route to consult our baggage fee schedule. That kind of seems to imply that maybe the stuff I selected at the top regarding my route affects this table, but it doesn't: it's just an unchanging table.

I'm going to assume I'm interesting in the "Per piece at the airport" column, but I'll still note that even the other columns are confusing: there is "Per Volume" column, but no units? Is it just a fixed fee for any bag which exceeds the linear dimension rules or what?

OK, so how do I look up the right row? The heading says Origin/Destination. So which is it? Why is there a slash? I'm flying from Canada to South America, do I use my origin or my destination?

Let's assume I use the origin, and so the US & Canada row. It says First Piece = 25 USD - but from the "Baggage Allowance" section I'm pretty sure my first piece is free. What gives? Is it the first excess piece then (i.e., my second piece?). That interpretation doesn't make sense though given that the other rows don't have any "first piece" entry at all, so I think it really is the first piece (but perhaps the baggage allowance overrides it).

Ultimately, I'm guessing that my second piece of luggage will cost 55 USD, but any help in parsing this is still appreciated.

6

I still can't fully parse the table, but for the record, flying YVR -> MEX -> SCL, the fee was $55 USD for the second bag at the airport.

0

The fee for additional baggage for flying between Canada and South America (excluding Brazil) is $80 USD for the second piece and $180 for each one after that.

enter image description here

In order to get this info you must select your origin and destination and then follow the excess baggage fees, finding the combination of routes required to go from Canada to South America.

  • I'm quite sure the from/to drop-down selections at the top don't change the table shown under excess baggage. I tried a few permutations at the table is unchanged. Did you find otherwise? Those selections, AFAICT, only effect the very top section dealing with baggage allowances. – BeeOnRope Sep 25 '17 at 23:06
  • The table is pretty clear now. It says Multiple International Flights with From - to Central America, Caribbean, South America to USA / Canada which is exactly what you are looking for. – Itai Sep 26 '17 at 0:05
  • Well I am not going "to" Canada, but "from", but perhaps that part is a typo/oversight? Too bad if that row applies: it seems nearly all of AMs interesting flights connect though MEX so it would apply almost all the time overriding the other rows. Also it's inconsistent with the earlier "baggage allowance" section which doesn't care if you have more than one international leg. @Itai – BeeOnRope Sep 26 '17 at 0:06
  • @BeeOnRope - They probably just forget to put To/From(instead of To) in the part since the beginning starts with To/From. Since most people buy round-trip tickets, it makes a lot of sense that allowance would be symmetric (it nearly always is), otherwise people can't get back with all their stuff or can't take as much as they are allowed to bring back! – Itai Sep 26 '17 at 0:46
  • 1
    So I still can't parse it. Guess the answer to your question in no then :) – Itai Oct 4 '17 at 19:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.