Republic of the Union of Myanmar, also known as Burma, is a sovereign state in Southeast Asia bordered by China, Thailand, India, Laos and Bangladesh. One-third of Burma's total perimeter of 1,930 kilometres forms an uninterrupted coastline along the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. Its population of over 60 million makes it the world's 24th most populous country and, at 676,578 square kilometers, it is the world's 40th largest country and the second largest in Southeast Asia.

World Factbook Entry

Burma Travel Guide

history | show excerpt | excerpt history