The Republic of Lithuania is a small country located in Northern Europe between the Baltic Sea, Latvia, Poland, Kaliningrad (Russia) and Belarus. The capital is Vilnius, and the official language is Lithuanian, an Indo-European language. The country has a population of a bit more than 3 million inhabitants. Lithuania was the first Soviet republic to declare independence from the Soviet Union (USSR) on the 11th March 1990.

history | show excerpt | excerpt history