The Republic of Kosovo is a partially recognised state in Southeastern Europe. Its largest city and capital is Pristina. Kosovo is landlocked and is bordered by the Republic of Macedonia to the south, Albania to the west and Montenegro to the northwest. The remaining line of demarcation is the subject of controversy — seen by proponents of Kosovan independence as the Kosovo-Serbia border and seen by opponents of the independence as the boundary between Central Serbia and an autonomous Kosovo within Serbia.

It has nearly 2 million inhabitants living on 10908 square kilometers.

World Factbook Entry

Be in Kosovo

history | show excerpt | excerpt history