German (Deutsch) is the official language of Austria, Belgium, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Switzerland. It is a West Germanic language deriving most of its vocabulary from the Germanic branch of the Indo-European language family.[9] A number of words are derived from Latin and Greek, and fewer from French and English. Widely spoken languages which are most similar to German include Luxembourgish, Dutch, the Frisian languages, English and the Scandinavian languages.

history | show excerpt | excerpt history